how to get your stories published

Let’s presume you’ve done al this. How would you put the final touch on your work so that you have a decent chance at selling it well?

I think there is one secret:

Write what you feel like writing.

Well, that’s a bit of a no-brainer. Of course you write what you want to write.

… or do you? Are you trying out a lot of different things? Are you writing stories that are ‘like’ someone else’s? Are you writing a particular subgenre because there is a lot being published in that subgenre?

… or are you writing what experience has told you can write successfully?

… or maybe you haven’t discovered your strengths yet?

… or maybe your strengths are in a genre that doesn’t seem to sell, so you feel forced to write something else?

Just write what you want to write, regardless of the market. Because when you write what is your passion, your stories will be better. Because the magazines may be thoroughly sick of seeing more of the same. Because they may be looking for something that feels genuine.

Write something because your heart is in it, not because you want to sell it.

5 comments on “how to get your stories published

  1. Guilty. Guilty. Guilty. It’s that second guessing gene. I am now going the nurturing-myself way and am writing what I want to write.

    And now I am no nearer to getting published for want of the bravery gene, sending my (weird) stuff out.

  2. This is so true! Write what your heart tells you – it works every time.

    I’ve honestly been on a hiatus from writing since I finished my last novel, because I was trying to write something I wasn’t entirely passionate about, and the result was I wasn’t as driven to write this one as much as I was for my last novel.

    I’m still on that hiatus. Trying to figure out a new story now 🙂 Thanks for this post, patty!

    • I have the same situation, where I’m about to trunk a lot of material simply because I don’t really want to break into the market as writer of those subgenres.

    • Hey Marine, good to see you here.

      Lukewarm slush, I’ve written stacks and stacks of that. Stories that are OK, but lack that extra passion. Sometimes you even sell stories like that, but it’s a stroke of luck. Usually, they’re not bad stories, just also-rans.

Leave a Reply

