workshop redux and a few other things

We are enjoying the workshop experience. Three editors have now completed all the posts, which will appear here within the next week. There will be a total of fifteen commentary posts.

We want to stress that submitting here in no way impacts on submitting to the magazine. That said, if an editor indicates that he/she would read on, please mention this in your submission letter, so that the slush mistress can pass the submission onto the appropriate editor for a first reading. We have a large team of slush readers, and tastes vary.

If you’d like to get a feel for the criteria I, personally, use to check a story’s first few paragraphs, read my guest post on Bryan Thomas Schmidt’s blog. Bryan, by the way, runs the very interesting SFF Writer Chat (#sffwrtcht) on Twitter, and has a space opera coming out soon.

In looking at the stats, I notice that a lot of visitors are coming over from Absolute Write. Since I’m utterly unfamiliar with that venue, would any of you stop by to elaborate on its virtues in the comments?

15 comments on “workshop redux and a few other things

  1. I’m from Absolute Write, so I guess I may as well comment. I’m relatively new to the forum, but it’s a large writing forum with a good number of very intelligent and experienced writers in all manner of genres.

    I’ll also add my voice to those saying thanks for doing this.

    Nathaniel Katz

    • Thanks for commenting. I think I’ve been to Absolute Write a few times, I think, but in reality, there is a limit to the number of forums/social networking sites. You can keep up with.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  2. Hi Patty,

    I posted about your workshop on the Absolute Write when you first announced it. The thread can be found here:
    http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=202399

    There’s a thriving community of short fiction writers at AW and many of us submit or have submitted to ASIM. At AW new writers like myself have been able to benefit from the knowledge of our more experienced colleagues in regard to the submission process and etiquette. Personally I find it to be the second most important resource after Duotrope when it comes to the business of trying to sell short fiction.

    Thanks very much for sharing your insights on this blog, and please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any specific questions about AW. I am certain many of the regulars are eagerly reading your workshop updates.

    Alex Shvartsman

    • Thanks you for replying and thanks for posting. What sort of writers are at Absolute Write? Are they more likely to be beginners or writers who have sold? Is there a critique section on the site?

      • The writers range from aspiring authors working on their first sale to members with dozens of pro credits and novelists. There is a critique aspect as well, though you have to be a member to see it.

  3. Another Absolute Writer, adding my thanks! It’s always helpful to hear what the people on the other side of the slush are thinking. (I’ve bookmarked your guest post as well.)

    Also thanks for clarifying what to do if an editor indicates that he/she would read on. I was going to ask, as I wrote story #3. 🙂

    Re AW’s virtues: that story was written for a “Sekrit Santa” story exchange on AW, where several of us swapped prompts to write stories for each other. The board has regular writing challenges, as well as critique, beta swaps, etc.

    • OK, your reviewer was Ian Nichols, so if you say that in your cover letter, I’ll let Lucy know that the submission is coming, so that he can look at it first. It’s no guarantee, mind, but I think it’s fair that if he would read on, he’d get to see the rest of the story. I hope he’ll like the entire story.

  4. Another AWer loping over to say ‘thanks for the workshop.’ I haven’t submitted anything for crit myself, but I do regularly submit to ASIM (and sometimes even make it past slush :D), so am following this with interest.

    Absolute Write is, as Alex said, a thriving community. We have over 30,000 registered members, and several thousand active ones over the course of any given week.

    Simon Haynes posts at AW every so often, actually (I saw him pimping ASIM on AW just the other day :D).

    There are password-protected critique sections, as well as genre-specific boards, and boards for different writing forms (novels, short fiction, screenwriting, kids’ books, etc). The Bewares, Recommendations and Background Checks board is a great place to start when checking whether that agent or publisher you’re thinking of querying is legit or not. A good number of industry professionals frequent the site–ranging from editors and agents to longtime writing pros.

    I could waffle further, but that’d be bad form, so I’ll finish with this: It’s probably the best discussion-oriented resource I’ve discovered on the net, and the best writing community also.

    Plus a disclaimer: I’m a moderator for the short fiction section, though that was only recent and I’m still not quite sure how it happened. I was tricked, I swear. I turned around to look at something and when I turned back a mod collar was clamped around my neck.

    Thanks again, Patty and the rest of the ASIM crew, for putting this workshop on!

Leave a Reply

