Public service announcements

With the above image (taken at the lakeside walkway in Belconnen, Canberra), I officially announce autumn. A bit late, but it’s been warmer than usual. If you don’t see the image, it’s because you’re seeing this in the home page. Click on the post title and you will see it.

I suppose most of you will already know this, but in case you don’t, Trader’s Honour has finally trickled through all sites and is now available everywhere, even on Sony–although don’t ask me where the cover went. I suspect it will show up at some point in the future. Sony needs to pull up its socks, but that aside.

This page on my official author site details all the places where you can get it.

I’ve also taken delivery of print copies to sell at Supanova Sydney, where I will share a stand with fellow Kindleboarders Anya Allen and Selina Fenech. Both Anya and Selina are locals. We hope to meet Kindleboarder extra-ordinaire Colin Taber (from Perth) there, who is a true self-published Guest of Honour at the convention.

After the poll I did, I haven’t decided what the next project is going to be, so I’ve started on a couple:

I’ve made a start on Soldier’s Duty, book 3 of the Return of the Aghyrians series. In the style of the previous two books, this novel features a different main character. This character is Izramith Ezmi, and if you’re familiar with my world, you may get that she’s from Hedron. She’s one of the feared, veiled and heavily-armed guards. She’s very, very angry about something done to her family. The story offers a different perspective on the world, while we continue to follow the overall threads of the series: the sliding into total badassery of the Mirani council and the trials and tribulations of the extended Andrahar family. This is becoming an epic space opera!

I’ve also picked up a half-finished draft of a hard-SF novel set in the ISF-Allion world. This novel will show some of the reasons why ISF and Allion slid into war, and builds on some of the setting covered in His Name In Lights. The main character for this is a really weird guppy, a guy by the name of Fabio Velazquez, who is a poster child for why messing with artificial minds and artificial bodies is a Really Bad Idea.

I really need to write some short fiction and have started a Solaris Agency story (my WOTF-winning story was another such story). These are space-detective stories.

I am aware that there is a lot of stuff I haven’t started on, but Russ is threatening to send me edits for the novel and when they arrive, I’ll have to deal with those first, and I probably don’t need any further projects.



Patty writes hard Science Fiction, space opera and fantasy. Her latest book is Trader’s Honour, in the space opera series The Return of the Aghyrians. If you’d like to be kept up-to-date with new releases, remember to sign up for Patty’s new release newsletter.

Leave a Reply

