Plans to dominate the world. Coming to a screen near you in 2016

Let’s make an obligatory end-of-year post.

Some good stuff happened in 2015. I published a couple of books, and improved my sales. I also managed to get the husband’s “Oh, you really CAN make a living out of this if you continue” stare, and that’s a good thing.

In 2016…

I will publish The Necromancer’s Daughter and Blue Diamond Sky. The Necromancer’s Daughter will complete the For Queen And Country series. It was fun, but hasn’t, overall, sold as well as my other work, so unless you buy a crap-tonne of it, I won’t be doing any more.

I’ll do a cover reveal for the Necromancer’s Daughter on 14 January. If you want some easy content for your blog, I’m looking for a few more spots to release the cover. The book will go on pre-order on that date as well (aside from Apple where it is already on pre-order, sans cover). Release date: 23 February.

The rest of the year, I will concentrate on…

Ambassador: at least one book this year. I have ideas for more. We’ll see how it pans out.

I really should be starting something new. I’ve played around with a lot of stuff and I may start a completely new Space Opera. I’ve learned a lot about marketing and launches. I want to play with the big boys, so I’ll probably sit on them until I can release three books in quick succession. I’ll get the covers done right from the start, and make some other investments like getting a professional copy-editor to write the blurbs. Then I’ll do pre-orders and use a pen name. Want to know what it is? It will be revealed to my mailing list.

Why a pen name? Because it’s fun clearing the slate. Because the top 100 Space Opera is a sausage fest, and I’ve always wondered if being female *really* hinders. Or not and it’s a myth. I’ve had some nibbles at the pen name thing, but I need to set a good slab of time aside for a new project, and I’ve been unable to do that so far.

The awesome thing about epublishing is that you can re-join the fiction from both names at the push of a button. You can even change your name on the cover. Easy. I emphatically do NOT want to do that with my existing series.

Ambitious project of the year… Last year it was to list direct at Apple. This year, I’ll look into audio. Problem is that this is extremely expensive. There is not much point going into audio without a good narrator, and they charge up to $300 per finished hour of narrating. Most books are 10-15 hours. Yikes. Maybe I can raise some of it through a kickstarter? I don’t know. Something to look into.

Plans to dominate the world. Coming to a screen near you in 2016 was originally published on Must Use Bigger Elephants

By pattyjansen Posted in news

Leave a Reply

